top of page
Writer's picturebringyourdrummn

Think Tank: Rhythm in Motion vol.1

To be fair this particular blog is more about performance than it is about rhythm in motion.  But maybe the ideas would help sustain the rhythm in your environment…?

It was said that “If something is easy to predict their more likely to be within their comfort zone.”  This reminded me that earlier in my career I made up my own rules of trance.  I would pick a phrase that could be played circularly, or repetitively without changing for a whole song.  I thought the sounds would become memorized quickly and overthrow the sense of time to allow people to explore within this new driving force.  I was even affirmed of this concept by the Greek key and frieze.  A key is one shape and a frieze is that shape repeated over & over again.  Some musicians call this ‘trance’ ‘playing in the pocket.’  Funny thing about this frieze in Greek is that when its spun into a circle it creates the famous labyrinth.  This labyrinth is the one the story of Theseus comes from where he enters the labyrinth, finds his Minotaur & successfully drags it out the entrance again.  I believed I could create an environment where one can find their troubles and escape.

The statement about predictability was quickly followed up by “Anytime you do something out of context for the situation they are going to freak out on you.”  I have a hard time with this in particular because I have schizophrenia which I think entails that I have a hard time perceiving reality.  I have many stories about being outside the context of modern culture and therefore getting reprimanded.  But the statement was followed up with mentioning that you have context classified by the different genres.  Like if you prefer punk rock you can greater find good times by only going out for punk situations.  If a punk band started playing smooth jazz many people would vamoose to escape the uncomfortable noise.

To follow the apparent theme of comfort I suggested for the performer to be able to receive thought of mind they have two options.  To be grandfathered in or to pay their dues.  Though, I seem to be looking black and white.  I see a parallel in artwork in that to achieve this you are either just ready to perform it or you can plan and prepare.  See?  I’m stuck in binary.  I know the attributes should list as extensively as dungeons & dragons stats cards.

“Shout out to Uncle Kwasi who is a Master djembe instructor out of the Midtown Global Market and Funtime Funktions for allowing me guidance with instructing performance to youth.  This essay is the start of my preparations for adult curriculum.”

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Drum em Sprite.

Building a minitour takes only 30 days. There are a few basic keys to note about drumming and I like to share them while juggling three...

Make believe like rain-sticks.

I am studying rhythm in motion and just learned something from my rain-stick!  I love this instrument because it mimics a force of nature...

Comments


bottom of page